Monday, May 08, 2017

"for they shall see God" - Love vs Seven Deadly Sins

Tokyo Bay

Love vs Seven Deadly Sins

There is an ethical teaching in Christianity called the seven vices.
The seven deadly sins, also known as the capital vices or cardinal sins, is a grouping and classification of vices of Christian origin.[1] Behaviours or habits are classified under this category if they directly give birth to other immoralities.[2] According to the standard list, they are pride, greed, lust, envy, gluttony, wrath, and sloth,[2] which are also contrary to the seven virtues. These sins are often thought to be abuses or excessive versions of one's natural faculties or passions (for example, gluttony abuses one's desire to eat).
However, there are no nations or societies that have laws or regulations to forbid pride, greed, lust, envy, gluttony, wrath, and sloth, since they are matters inside the human mind.

No matter how much you have pride, greed, lust, envy, gluttony, wrath, and sloth, you are not arrested and judged by governmental authority in any countries.  Especially in Western, modern, or democratic countries, religion belongs to the domain of human freedom.  You are not punished if you don't believe in God in such countries.  By law, none can be punished if he or she believes in Satan and loves evil unless he or she commits crimes specified in laws or regulations.

However, Christ Jesus did not count these sins so openly.  But He ordered to love God as much as one can and love one's neighbors as one loves oneself.  And it is apparent that one will naturally lose one's pride, greed, lust, envy, gluttony, wrath, and sloth while he or she is following this order.  In other word, these seven deadly vices come to appear when one loses love to God and one's neighbors.

The environment around rich men is full of pride, greed, lust, envy, gluttony, wrath, and sloth.

**** **** ****

Mat 5:8 Blessed are the pure in heart: for they shall see God.